Venue, qualifier matches announced for inaugural Super Cup

The inaugural edition of the Super Cup is set to be played at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar, starting on March 15, the All India Football Federation (AIFF) announced on Thursday (March 8).

All the 20 Indian clubs – from the I-League and the Indian Super League (ISL) will be taking part in the competition.

Clubs who finished between 7th and 10th places in the I-League and ISL will feature in a knockout qualifier to earn a spot in the main draw.

Minerva Punjab

The winners from the four qualifier matches will join the top 6 ISL clubs – Bengaluru FC, Chennayin FC, FC Goa, FC Pune City, Jamshedpur FC and Kerala Blasters and the top 6 I-League clubs – champions Minerva Punjab, Neroca FC, East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Aizwal FC and Shillong Lajong in the final phase of the tournament.

The final round which will commence from March 31, 2018 will also be played at the same venue, the draw for which will be announced shortly.

AIFF general secretary Kushal Das said, “We are very pleased that the Government of Odisha is supporting the tournament which helped us in finalising Bhubaneswar as the venue. I was delighted to see the response in Jamshedpur for the ISL matches and I believe it has become a significant venue in the Hindi heartland. I feel this is an opportunity for us to establish Bhubaneswar as a new football hub.”

The draw for the qualifiers for the Super Cup is as follows:

March 15:

Delhi Dynamos FC vs Churchill Brothers (5pm).

North East United FC vs Gokulam Kerala FC (8pm).

March 16:

Mumbai City FC vs Indian Arrows (5pm).

ATK vs Chennai City FC (8pm).



For more, follow us on Facebook @TheRingSideView and on Twitter @theringsideview

Share Button