Umesh Yadav given out after TV Umpire views wrong replay

A blunder by the broadcaster may have resulted in Umesh Yadav being wrongly ruled out by TV Umpire in Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians’ clash on Tuesday.

On the final ball of the 18th over, Umesh Yadav was dismissed by Jasprit Bumrah after he tried to slog a length delivery, but only ended up skying it to the fielder at cover. Post the catch being taken, the batsman was asked to stay back by the on-field umpire in order to check for the no-ball. The TV Umpire saw the replay provided by the broadcaster, and Bumrah’s front leg was well within the line. Umesh was asked to walk and RCB lost their eighth wicket.

Umesh Yadav

However, on closer inspection of the replay, we can see that the replay provided to the TV Umpire was a delivery in which Umesh Yadav was at the non-striker’s end! It was pointed out by Twitter user @ronak_169.

Here’s the full incident:

While it may not have made a huge difference in the outcome, with RCB struggling at 137/8, still requiring 77 runs from two overs, it was a massive blunder on the part of the broadcaster.

This is not the first time the IPL has witnessed an error on these lines. In the 2011 IPL season, Sachin Tendulkar was adjudged out after the TV Umpire had verified from three angles that Amit Mishra had not overstepped. But it later came to light that the third and conclusive replay had Tendulkar at the non-striker’s end.

Again in 2011, in a Test match in Barbados, MS Dhoni was ruled out off a no-ball even though on-field umpire suspected fast bowler Fidel Edwards had overstepped and went upstairs to check. On this occasion, the wrong replay was shown to the third umpire.

 

 

For more, follow us on Facebook @TheRingSideView and on Twitter @theringsideview

Share Button