Umesh, Shami return as India squad for first three ODIs announced

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squad for the first three ODIs against Australia on Sunday (September 10).

Fast bowlers Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami will make their return to the national side for the first three of the five-match series against Australia. Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav retained their spots as Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were left.

“The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested.” Chairman of selectors MSK Prasad is quoted in a BCCI release. “The team’s performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours.”



Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.


For more, follow us on Facebook @TheRingSideView and on Twitter @theringsideview

Share Button