Steve Smith and David Warner banned from playing IPL 2018

A media release by the Indian Premier League has confirmed that in the wake of David Warner and Steve Smith’s involvement in ball tampering during Australia’s tour of South Africa, the duo will be banned from playing in the 2018 edition of the Indian Premier League. Steve Smith was set to captain Rajasthan Royals, while David Warner was going to captain Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The players, who were on contracts of INR 12.5 crore according to a report by Cricbuzz were already expected not to take charge of their IPL sides after their involvement in the ball tampering incident against South Africa became apparent. David Warner had stepped down from his position as captain of Sunrisers, while Steve Smith was replaced by Ajinkya Rahane as captain of Rajasthan Royals.

The statement from the IPL read, “The CoA, in consultation with BCCI acting president Mr. CK Khanna, IPL Chairman Mr. Rajiv Shukla and BCCI Acting Hon. Secretary Mr. Amitabh Choudhary, has decided to ban Mr. Smith and ban Mr. Warner with immediate effect from participation in IPL 2018.”

While Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad will be allowed replacement players, Smith and Warner have also been handed out one year bans from international cricket by Cricket Australia.

Tim Paine, meanwhile, has taken over as Australia’s Test captain for the rest of the series.

Share Button