Sri Lankan sports minister stops nine players of ODI squad from departing for India

Making use of a Sri Lankan law from 1973 which gives the country’s sports minister the final say in selection of any national team before they can compete, Dayasiri Jayasekera stopped nine players who were selected in the ODI squad from leaving for India for the upcoming ODI series.

One of the nine players told news wire AFP on the condition of anonymity that the players were on their way to Colombo airport late on Monday night, when they were told to return. Sports minister Jayasekera is reportedly unhappy with the inclusion of certain players in the squad, as well as the decision to give clearance to the nine players in question to fly to India to join the rest of the squad without his knowledge.

The Sri Lankan cricket team has lost 21 one day internationals this calendar year and won only four, and Jayasekera may order at least two changes to the squad before the players can finally depart for India. The nine players who were stopped from leaving for India were Thisara Perera,  Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep.

The full Sri Lankan ODI squad for the series against India (pending changes from the sports minister of Sri Lanka) is –

Thisara Perera (C), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep

Share Button