All the reactions as Minerva Punjab FC clinch their first I-League title!

For the second year in a row, the I-League has a new winner. If last season was all about Aizawl FC’s fairytale run to the title, this season Minerva Punjab FC have their hands on the trophy. Playing a dogged and organized style of football throughout the season, Minerva left it to the very last day to clinch the title. Requiring a win against relegation battlers Churchill Brothers (with Neroca FC, East Bengal and Mohun Bagan all still capable of winning the league if other results went their way), the team from Punjab fought their way to a narrow 1-0 win.

Wild celebrations ensued, as the I-League title went to the only club from north India in the league. Moreover, it is the first time in eleven years that the top division title has gone to a club from North India, the last winners being JCT Phagwara. Here’s how Twitter reacted to Minerva Punjab FC’s historic I-League title win!

Share Button