Ravichandran Ashwin named India ‘A’ captain for Deodhar Trophy

Ravichandran Ashwin

The national selection committee named Ravichandran Ashwin as captain of the India ‘A’ team for the Deodhar Trophy, which is scheduled to be held in Dharamsala from March 4th to March 8th. It is a chance for Ashwin to lead a team in a competitive 50 over tournament, as he fights hard to make a return to the Indian ODI side.

Captaining the India ‘B’ team is Shreyas Iyer, while Vijay Hazare Trophy champions Karnataka are the third team in the tournament, led by Karun Nair.

Main batsmen from the victorious India U-19 side in the U-19 World Cup Shubman Gill and Prithvi Shaw will be a part of the India A team. It is likely that Ashwin’s performance both as a captain and bowler will be keenly assessed, with the national selectors currently preferring wrist spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav in the ODI side.

Umesh Yadav has been included in the India ‘B’ side, having not got a game in the recently concluded series in South Africa. He was behind Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shardul Thakur in the pecking order and will be looking to prove a point in the Deodhar Trophy. Meanwhile, Mohammed Shami will turn out for the India ‘A’ side.

Selectors also named the Rest of India team for the Irani Cup in Nagpur,¬†which is set to take on Vidarbha from March 14th to March 18th. Karun Nair’s inconsistent form has been overlooked as he was named captain of the side. The team also includes Prithvi Shaw, Bengal batsman Abhimanyu Easwaran, and Delhi pacer Navdeep Saini. India U-19 pacers Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi, however, did not find a spot in any of the three squads.

Share Button