IPL Rewind: A look back at all previous IPL finals

As we await the final of the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League on Sunday (May 27) at the Wankhede Stadium, here is a rewind of all the finals from previous editions of the tournament.


Rajasthan Royals’ fairytale (2008)

The inaugural IPL season culminated with the most unlikely side Rajasthan Royals lifting the trophy, fittingly in a last-ball finish. Shane Warne’s side chased down 163 runs with three wickets to spare, courtesy of Yusuf Pathan’s 56 from 39 balls. Shane Watson and Swapnil Asnodkar provided effective cameos at the top, and Warne and Sohail Tanvir helped RR scrap through in the final moments.

Player of the Match: Yusuf Pathan


Pragyan Ojha leads the charge (2009)

It is not often that you find yourself on the losing side after finishing with figures of 4/16 in your spell. That is what happened to Anil Kumble as Deccan Chargers defended 144 runs at Johannesburg in 2009. Herschelle Gibbs scored a crucial half-century, followed by Andrew Symonds’ 33, which helped the Hyderabad franchise reach a respectable total. Apart from Ross Taylor and Roelf van der Merwe, none of the RCB batsmen got going on the night. Pragyan Ojha picked up three wickets in his spell, and RCB fell short by 6 runs.

Player of the Match: Anil Kumble


CSK pip Mumbai for maiden title (2010)

Chennai Super Kings managed to overcome Sachin Tendulkar’s Mumbai Indians in the third IPL final, thanks to a fantastic batting display by Suresh Raina in the first innings and Muttiah Muralitharan’s economic four overs. At one point, MI were cruising towards the 169-run target but their run-chase took a mighty hit when the well-set Tendulkar was dismissed by Shadab Jakati. Kieron Pollard provided a late blitz to reignite Mumbai’s hopes but shrewd captaincy from MS Dhoni resulted in his downfall and CSK winning their maiden IPL title.

Player of the Match: Suresh Raina


One-sided affair (2011)

A 200+ total is a tough ask in a T20 game, let alone in the final of the tournament. Chennai Super Kings managed that feat in 2011 at Chepauk. Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay were devastating at the top, and MS Dhoni provided a short cameo in the end to lead CSK to 205 runs. The run-chase relied on Chris Gayle providing the fireworks for Royal Challengers Bangalore, but Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed the southpaw in the third ball of the innings. RCB never threatened the target as they succumbed to a 58-run loss in the end.

Player of the Match: Murali Vijay


Kolkata reign supreme at Chepauk (2012)

The story of IPL 2012 final followed along the lines of 2011, until halfway. Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay’s start was backed up by a superb 38-ball 73 by Suresh Raina to lead Chennai Super Kings to 190. But an innings of a lifetime by Manvinder Bisla, coupled by lucid 69 from Jacques Kallis brought Kolkata Knight Riders within inches of the target. A no-ball assist from Ben Hilfenhaus in the penultimate over and two boundaries from Manoj Tiwary in the final over denied CSK a hat-trick of titles and KKR its first.

Player of the Match: Manvinder Bisla


Kieron Pollard leads MI to glory (2013)

In a season marred by the spot-fixing and betting scandal, Mumbai Indians emerged victorious at the Eden Gardens in the finale, thanks to a rampant Kieron Pollard. A quick-fire 60 after a top-order collapse helped MI post a respectable 148 runs on a sluggish wicket. MI’s seam bowlers, Mitchell Johnson and Lasith Malinga ran through the top order and left CSK helpless at 39 for 6. MS Dhoni provided a late resurgence but it was too big of a mountain to climb even for the skipper as Chennai fell short by 23 runs.

Player of the Match: Kieron Pollard


Manish Pandey and KKR derail George Bailey’s Kings XI (2014)

The 2014 IPL final was a tale of two special knocks. Wriddhiman Saha smashed an unbeaten 115 off 55 balls to thrust Kings XI Punjab to 199 in their 20 overs. But it was Manish Pandey’s 94 from 50 balls that earned the rewards, as his innings put Kolkata Knight Riders 21 runs away from the target before his dismissal. Cameos from Yusuf Pathan and Shakib Al Hasan kept KKR level in terms of the required run-rate, and Piyush Chawla’s six and four at the back end led them to their second title.

Player of the Match: Manish Pandey


MI overpower CSK again at Eden Gardens (2015)

Mumbai Indians made it two out of three against Chennai Super Kings in IPL finals; this time in an even more convincing manner. MS Dhoni’s choice to bowl first backfired as an all-round batting effort from MI propelled them to 202 in their 20 overs. Despite only losing Michael Hussey in the first 10 overs, CSK were well short of the required rate, needing 13.6 runs an over. Wickets started falling in heaps post the halfway mark of the run-chase, which eventually ended in CSK falling short by 41 runs.

Player of the Match: Rohit Sharma


Sunrisers deny star-studded RCB (2016)

A battle between two of the most prolific run-scores in IPL 2016, David Warner and Virat Kohli, eventually went the latter’s way. Batting first, Sunrisers were in a spot of bother post Warner’s dismissal. But a watchful 38 from Yuvraj Singh and a quick-fire 39 from Ben Cutting pushed the target beyond 200. RCB were flying in the first half of the run-chase, with Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli in prime form. The tide however turned SRH’s way post the dismissals of the openers as the following batsmen – KL Rahul, AB de Villiers and Shane Watson fell within a span of three overs. Despite being 140/2 in 13 overs, the home side finished nine runs short of the target.

Player of the Match: Ben Cutting


MI scrap through for #3 (2017)

A low-scoring thriller in 2017 sealed MI’s third IPL, denying Rising Pune Supergiant a fairytale end as an IPL franchise. RPS looked well in control of the tie at the 15-over mark chasing 129 runs, with MS Dhoni and Steve Smith set. However, tight overs from Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga, topped off by Mitchell Johnson conceding just nine runs in the final over sealed a comeback victory for MI.

Player of the Match: Krunal Pandya


For more, follow us on Facebook @TheRingSideView and on Twitter @theringsideview

Share Button