IPL 2017: Team of the Tournament

As the tenth edition of the Indian Premier League draws to its conclusion, The Ring Side View is putting together the best XI of the season. This list was compiled keeping in mind the four overseas players rule and taking into consideration all the matches through the league stage of the tournament.

The Openers: David Warner (Captain) , Rahul Tripathi

The most consistent opening batsmen in the tournament have been Warner for SRH and Tripathi for RPSG. Rahul Tripathi is one of the main reasons for his side qualifying for the playoffs, with 388 runs in the league stage. Warner is the leading run-scorer of the tournament as well with an average of 60.40 and he will also captain the side.

Number 3: Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina hardly ever has a bad IPL season and was the most important batsman in the Gujarat Lions line-up. He ranks fourth on the list of the highest run-getters this season and is an ideal option at the key number three slot.

The Middle Order: Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Ben Stokes, Kieron Pollard

This was a difficult choice to make with a lot of available options. Rishabh Pant has been a standout performer for the Daredevils and is a certain threat to any opposition bowling attack, dismissing deliveries with disdain. Dinesh Karthik will be the wicket-keeper for the side with his ability to hit the ball clearly down the order. The all-rounders include Ben Stokes and Kieron Pollard, both excellent fielders in addition to what they contribute with the bat and ball.

The Bowlers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah

Bhuvneshwar is an obvious choice, being the leading wicket-taker of the tournament. Jaydev Unadkat would take the new ball with Bhuvi and also is an option to bowl in the middle overs. Rashid Khan is the ideal first change bowler and can also be called upon to bowl in the power-play overs. The most suitable option to bowl at the death has got to be Bumrah, with his consistent yorkers.

For more, follow us on Facebook @TheRingSideView and on Twitter @theringsideview

(Akhil Prakash is a sports writer for The Ring Side View and for more updates, you can follow him on Facebook and Twitter)

Share Button

Leave a Reply