India’s greatest T20 World Cup moments

The T20 format has captured the imagination of Indian cricket fans, ever since Misbah-ul-Haq’s ill-fated scoop shot won India the 2007 T20 World Cup. Now the ‘Men in Blue’ are looking to get their hands on the trophy for the second time (which will be a first for a team) and being the first ever host nation to win the tournament. Over the last five editions, there have been several defining moments for MS Dhoni and his men – let’s recall a few of them

Bowl-out between India and Pakistan (2007)

There aren’t many similarities between football and cricket, but the solution to a tied match in a T20 game was an exception (until the super over was introduced). The India vs Pakistan group stage match ended in a tie which resulted in a bowl-out to determine the winner. It was exciting for the teams and fans who were viewing the spectacle for the first time. It’s not often that you get to  read a scorecard as ‘India defeats Pakistan 3-0’ for a cricket match!


Yuvraj smashes six sixes (2007)

Andrew Flintoff is likely to remember 19th September, 2007 for a long time. His ‘brief conversation’ with Yuvraj Singh before the 19th over wasn’t well received by the graceful lefty from Punjab! What followed was pure carnage, Stuart Broad was subjected to an all-out assault courtesy Yuvraj, getting smashed for six sixes in the next over. In doing so he completed his half-century, which is the fastest 50 in T20 internationals, off just 12 balls. The funniest part was when Broad asked the umpire how many balls were left after the fifth six (hasn’t he come a long way). Simon Taufel would have definitely burned a few calories that night.


Raina’s record century vs SA (2010)

India’s win against South Africa was a special victory courtesy a brilliant century from Suresh Raina. The lefty from Uttar Pradesh scored a delightful 101 off 60 balls, becoming the first batsman to score a century in all three formats of the game.


Virat Kohli’s run-Fest in Bangladesh (2014)

Sri Lanka won the 2014 edition of the tournament by defeating India in the final and giving legends Kumar Sangakara and Mahela Jayewardene a World Cup winner’s medal after falling short in 2007 and 2011 in the 50-over format. But the star of the tournament was definitely Virat Kohli. He scored 319 runs in six innings with an astonishing average of 106.33 and was awarded man of the tournament.

Victory over Pakistan in the 2007 final.

For the first edition of the tournament, this was a marquee final that took place and it delivered in every aspect. India batted first and only manged a total of 157 with Gautam Gambhir scoring 75 off 54 balls. Pakistan scored 53 off their first six overs, but then a middle order collapse resulted in them losing six wickets for just 77 runs in the 12th over. Misbah then took over (with help from Sohail Tanvir) and took the match to the final over with 13 required and one wicket in hand. His infamous scoop resulted in his wicket and giving India the victory by five runs and becoming World Cup winners for the first time since 1983.


Youtube subscribe  FB hi res


Share Button

One Comments

  1. Pingback: GVK BIO

Leave a Reply