India announces Test squad for Sri Lanka tour

The BCCI announced the Indian Test squad for the tour of Sri Lanka which begins on July 26th. Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya have been included in the side, while Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav and Shreyas Iyer miss out. The team’s opening batsmen are Murali Vijay and a returning KL Rahul, with Abhinav Mukund being the back up opener.  The middle order will depend on Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma, along with wicketkeeper batsman Wriddhiman Saha. Rahul returns to the Indian side after his injury layoff while Rohit will be seen in the team after being rested for the limited overs tour to the West Indies.

Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin are the three all-rounders in the team and will be crucial to the team’s fortunes in the series. The bowlers in the side include left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav, along with pacers Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami. It will be interesting to see if Hardik Pandya gets a spot in the playing XI, and which pacers captain Kohli picks to play in the XI as well.

Indian Test Squad: 1. Murali Vijay, 2. KL Rahul, 3. Abhinav Mukund, 4. Cheteshwar Pujara, 5. Virat Kohli (C), 6. Ajinkya Rahane, 7. Rohit Sharma, 8. Wriddhiman Saha (WK), 9. Hardik Pandya, 10. Ravindra Jadeja, 11. Ravichandran Ashwin, 12. Kuldeep Yadav, 13. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 14. Ishant Sharma, 15. Mohammed Shami, 16. Umesh Yadav

For more, follow us on Facebook @TheRingSideView and on Twitter @theringsideview


(Akhil Prakash is a sports writer for The Ring Side View and for more updates, you can follow him on Facebook and Twitter)


Share Button

Leave a Reply