Gautam Gambhir, Bhuvneshwar Kumar take top honours

After more than a week of exhilarating action in the 10th edition of the IPL, Gautam Gambhir and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have emerged as the top performers.

With 167 runs in the tournament so far, Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gambhir is the holder of the Orange Cap whilst Bhuvneshwar Kumar holds the Purple Cap with 7 wickets. Gambhir has two fifties under his belt already in three innings so far and has been vital to Kolkata’s successful start to the season. Sunrisers Hyderabad started their title defence promisingly with two back-to-back victories. Their key performers have been Rashid Khan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar who are at the top of the Purple Cap list as well.

Gambhir is followed by young Nitish Rana of the Mumbai Indians who has been in terrific form this year. Other names in the top 10 run scorers at present include Chris Lynn, Sanju Samson and the Kings XI Punjab duo of Glenn Maxwell and Hashim Amla. The race for the Purple Cap is quite tight with Imran Tahir at number three followed by Zaheer Khan and Chris Morris of the Delhi Daredevils. The season has seen some special bowling efforts from the leg-spinners whilst off-spinners haven’t been able to create much of an impact yet. The fact that Rana and Samson have made it to the list of contenders for the Orange Cap currently is a fantastic sign for Indian cricket.


(Akhil Prakash is a sports writer for The Ring Side View and for more updates, you can follow him on Facebook and Twitter)

Share Button

Leave a Reply