Big names return as India announce 2017 Champions Trophy Squad

There were no major surprises as India announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming 2017 Champions Trophy in UK.

Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami are the big names that have returned into the 50-over squad for the defending champions. Sharma, who has been out of the national side due to a thigh injury, has been playing well in the ongoing Indian Premier League and has led the Mumbai Indians to the playoffs this year. Shami, who has suffered a series of injuries over the last two years, will most likely play an ODI for the first time since the 2015 World Cup semifinal against Australia.

The absence of in-form KL Rahul has resulted in Shikhar Dhawan being called up. He along with Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit will the openers. Along with Shami, IPL’s current leading wicket-taker Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah are the electing seam bowlers. Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja will lead the spin attack, after having had a terrific season with the red ball.

The middle-order will see both experience and youth, with MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey and Hardik Pandya.

Squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey

Share Button

Leave a Reply