Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah named in A+ category of BCCI pay grade

Having announced a new A+ pay grade for the 2017-18 season, the BCCI named Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah among other players to have earned a contract in the category. By virtue of being India’s go-to bowlers across all three formats, the duo joined Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma in the category. This means they will now earn INR 7 crore as their annual retainer for the September 2017-October 2018 period.

The 26 member list of contract renewals was made public by the BCCI today, but excludes the name of fast bowler Mohammed Shami due to reports that emerged regarding his personal life. He may be given a contract renewal at a later stage at the discretion of the BCCI. According to ESPNCricinfo, the BCCI has taken a note of the complaint made by Shami’s wife surrounding allegations of domestic abuse to the Kolkata Police, and has hence decided to withhold his name in the list of new contracts without making a judgement on the allegations.

Meanwhile, Shami tweeted the following:

Meanwhile, bracket A included the likes of Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and Wriddhiman Saha (who was promoted from bracket B. Bracket B includes Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav. Yuvraj Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Amit Mishra and the recently retired Ashish Nehra were among the notable exclusions from a contract.

In addition to the new contracts, the pay structures have also changed as below –

  • ‘A’ Bracket (previously INR 2 crore per annum) is now INR 5 crore per annum
  • ‘B’ Bracket (previously INR  1 crore per annum) is now INR 3 crore per annum
  • ‘C’ Bracket hiked by 50%, now INR 1 crore per annum

Finally, there have also been changes in the pay structure in women’s cricket. Grade A cricketers Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and new entrant Smriti Mandhana will earn INR 50 lakh per annum, an increase of 35 lakhs from the previous contract. Grade B cricketers Poonam Yadav, Veda Krishnamurty, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Ekta Bisht, Shikha Pandey and Deepti Sharma will earn INR 30 lakhs per annum. Finally, included among the Grade C cricketers are the likes of Jemimah Rodrigues, Taniya Bhatia, Anuja Patil and Mona Meshram who will earn INR 10 lakhs per annum.


Share Button